Snoqualmie Valley Historical Museum
Edward J. Siegrist was a photographer, jeweler and optician who ran a shop in North Bend from early 1908 to January 1910. He was elected the first treasurer of North Bend when it incorporated in February 1909. The April 1909 Issaquah Press reports that he temporarily relocated to the Richardson building until he could finish construction his new building after his first building burned along with half of North Bend in a fire earlier that month. Siegrist took a number of photographs of the Snoqualmie Valley while he was a resident in North Bend. His experience with lenses probably accounts for the quality of his photographs. In January 1910, the Issaquah Press reports him selling his business to Mr. Graham and taking a trip to visit his old home in Wisconsin. He is found later that year beginning a new jewelry, optician, and photography business in Concrete. By 1917 he appeared to have sold his business and disappeared from local records.
The Museum has over a hundred Siegrist images, featuring views of North Bend, local residents and homes, and railroad activity. The Museum is open through October on Saturdays through Tuesdays from 1-5 PM. It is located at 320 Bendigo Blvd S, North Bend.